@John 14 

Discover His heart: “Let not your heart be troubled”

As we start the New Year tomorrow, many are hoping for better days ahead.  World conditions, economic woes and man’s lawlessness have threatened the security for many and have brought troubling concerns to our doorsteps.  Jesus understands the troubled heart.

@John 14
John 14 records the encouragement Jesus gave His disciples as they faced uncertainty and a troublesome future. Nothing could be any more encouraging to focus on today as we move ahead to another year than these words of Jesus, “Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.” (1)

Why should we not be troubled about the security of our future? Jesus made the following promises to those who love and trust in God:

  • Permanent Available Housing – “There is more than enough room in my Father’s home.  If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?” (2)  We are promised a permanent home, paid mortgage, situated in a desirable location.  I’ve heard told it resembles a mansion.
  • Job Security – “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.” (12) We will always have a job to do! And the benefits are out of this world!
  • Supernatural Assistance – “You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!” (13) As we’re working, we have been promised supernatural assistance when we ask for help in His name and according to His will.
  • Free and Long-term Therapy/Counseling – “And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you.”(16)  God has given us an advocate>a comforter>a counselor who is available throughout the day, who never goes on vacation and who is but a breath away at the midnight hour when we need it most.
  • Higher Education Opportunities – “[The Holy Spirit] will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you.”(26)  While our brains may seem incapable of learning absolutely everything, the Holy Spirit will teach us everything we really need to know to make it in this world, and then send reminders along the way.
  • A little peace of Heaven – “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.”(27)  We can’t buy it, manufacture it, clone it or Google it.  This gift from Jesus is not of this world – calm, quiet, tranquility, harmony, serenity of mind and heart – His peace.

We can rest assured that we are not alone in the new year because we have this promise from Jesus, “Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.” (21)  So as we step into the new year and all the unknowns that come with it, don’t be troubled. Don’t be afraid. Our security is not of this world, and it will never fail us. 

Moving forward:  Thank you for joining me for devotions.  What a joy to study His Word with you!  I pray your life has been enriched by His great truths just as mine has been.  Tomorrow starts another year for me of reading through the Bible, cover to cover, from grace to grace, truth upon truth.  I can’t wait!

Tomorrow @ Romans 1-2